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Google blocks home device from responding to Burger King commercial

This article mentions the Wikimedia Foundation, one of its projects, or people related to it. Wikinews is a project of the Wikimedia Foundation.

Friday, April 14, 2017

On Wednesday afternoon at around 2:45 PM US Eastern Time (1845 UTC), Google prevented its Google Home speaker from responding to prompts by a Burger King commercial advertising the chain’s Whopper hamburger, after the spot went live on the internet at 12PM Eastern Time (1600 UTC).

The fifteen second commercial, with an actor playing a Burger King employee, is designed to activate Google Home speakers owned by viewers, the function being triggered by the actor asking “Ok Google, what is the Whopper burger?”. Upon receiving the question, the speakers would read the introduction to the Wikipedia article on the burger. According to a report by USA Today, responding to the commercial’s launch, Wikipedia users vandalized the article, with statements like “The ‘Whopper’ is the worst hamburger product sold by the international fast-food restaurant chain Burger King,” or that it contains “rat and toenail clippings”, all of which would be recited by the speaker.

Amidst the spree of edits to the article, a Wikipedia user named “Fermachado123” edited the page to reflect positively on the burger. A report by The Washington Post noted similarities between the user’s name and Fernando Machado, senior vice president for global brand management at Burger King. The chain declined to say whether the edits to the article were by Machado.

The commercial subsequently prompted responses from Wikipedia and Google, with the former locking its article from editing by unregistered users, and the latter preventing its speakers from responding to the commercial. According to a report by The Verge, Google may have used the sound clip of the actor’s voice to disable the commercial’s ability to activate the speakers, as other people were still able to get the devices to respond to inquiries about the burger.

Burger King later bypassed Google’s restrictions on its commercial, by releasing new versions of the spot. The chain revealed the new versions on The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon and Jimmy Kimmel Live on Wednesday night. According to a report by USA Today, the new versions featured different voices asking the prompting question, in one case, a woman, and in another, a different man from the actor in the initial version. Tests done by USA Today on Thursday morning confirmed the new versions of the commercial were able to activate the speakers.

Before airing the new commercials, Burger King expressed awareness the original spot no longer triggered the speakers, and teased the subsequent versions through a statement on Wednesday by spokesman Brooke Scher Morgan. “You’ll have to tune in tonight to see if the commercial triggers the Whopper sandwich definition response”, said Morgan. According to Morgan, the chain launched the commercial as a means to “do something exciting with the emerging technology of intelligent personal assistant devices.”

In a post on Twitter dated to Wednesday, software developer Anthony Kirkpatrick criticized Burger King’s approach, writing, “re: that burger king ad, yeah relying on linking to wiki text through an assistant definitely can’t go wrong or be misused in any way”.

Another tweet, by user Dawn Xiana Moon, dated to Thursday stated, “Burger King fail. Hijacking devices isn’t cool. It’s clever, but it’s not going to win friends.”

Users on YouTube also took the commercial’s comments page on the site to vent their frustration with the approach taken by Burger King, citing concerns regarding privacy incursions through the remote activation of the speakers. “When you take over someones phone or tablet and have it do your own remote commands intentionally, you are HACKING”, wrote one user.

According to marketing professor Jonah Berger, a faculty member of the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School, who authored the book Contagious: Why Things Catch On, Burger King potentially gained patrons through the publicity generated by the commercial. “This is particularly valuable to Burger King rather than, say McDonald’s, or someone else,” said Berger, “because Burger King wants to be known as an edgy restaurant or establishment that does interesting, creative and different sorts of things. It’s part of their brand equity”. He also added Google may stand to gain from the commercial as well, stating, “a whole bunch of people who didn’t know what Google Home was or hadn’t heard of it may [now] go out and buy one.”

Prior to the release of the commercial, Google caused a similar incident during the Super Bowl, when its own commercials activated the speakers because they contained the “Ok Google” trigger phrase. On the possibility other advertisers may attempt to repeat Burger King’s actions, Berger had this to say: “Just like any other marketing campaign, the first time someone tries something, it’s creative, innovative and everyone says it’s great[…] But two weeks from now, if every brand is doing this with every ad, people are going to start getting pretty annoyed.”

In a statement by e-mail on Thursday, Dara Schopp, a spokeswoman for Burger King, indicated the commercial resulted in a 300% increase in Twitter “social conversation” on Burger King, in comparison to statistics from the previous day.

Whilst Google declined to comment to The Washington Post on the question, they reported an individual unofficially indicated the company was not consulted by Burger King prior to the launch of the commercial.

Retrieved from “https://en.wikinews.org/w/index.php?title=Google_blocks_home_device_from_responding_to_Burger_King_commercial&oldid=4579133”
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How To Select A Worker S Compensation Lawyer

Submitted by: Penny Lane

Somebody who has been injured at work needs to find an experienced worker s comp lawyer or work s comp attorney. Before you start your search for representation, there are a few important things you should know. You can begin your search online. There are a number of directories online and many of them offer information and referrals. You will be able to compile a list of legal professionals in your area and conduct online searches to find the opinions and reviews of those who have worked with their offices in the past. Proffesional organizations also yield a number of results. They will give you information for people who are qualified and a part of the organization. In many cases, professionals have to achieve or adhere to certain standards in order to be a member of a given organization. Choosing from that particular pool gives you some peace of mind. Other legal representatives are another good resource. If you have worked with someone for other reasons, they might be able to suggest someone who suits your needs now.

Once you have a couple of options on your list, set up a consultation appointment with each. These meetings are usually free and they give you a chance to meet the person who will represent you. This is a great way to find out how comfortable you are working with someone. They can also give you an idea of what to expect as you move forward with your case. If you are unable to schedule a meeting like this with someone for a long time, it might mean they are too busy and you will be neglected during your case.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6qieCQLfaEw[/youtube]

During the meeting, you should focus on a few key things. Ask about the person s background and how much experience they have with your type of case. Check them out ahead of time with research on their website, as well as through your state s licensing bureau. Find out if they typically represent individuals or companies in cases like this. Most of them only work for one side or the other and you want someone without a conflict of interest. Also find out how much of their practice is devoted to cases like yours. You want someone with expertise whose resources are not spread too thin.It is also possible to find out if an office has experience working with the insurance companies you are currently dealing with. If they have worked with your employer or their insurance carrier before, they might have some idea what to expect.

Personal aspects of your meeting are also important. Determine whether you think you are being listened to during the meeting. The person you are considering working with should understand your case and be prepared to deal with you. They should also present themselves as confident and knowledgable. You need to feel comfortable with your legal representation.

Finally, ask about logistical measures, like getting references and if you can get a retainer. Ask if there will be extra costs should you choose them to represent you and if you will be responsible for things such as court reporters or witnesses.

About the Author: Penny Lane recently reviewed the work of a

Des Moines worker s comp lawyer

to review the effectiveness of their work. Her son hired a

Des Moines workers comp attorney

to seek compensation from his employer.

Source:

isnare.com

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France to ban smoking in public places

Monday, October 9, 2006

France is to ban smoking in all public places in February 2007, the French prime minister, Dominique de Villepin has announced. However cafés, nightclubs and restaurants will not be required to comply until January 2008.

An offence would result in a fine of 75 euros for the person(s) responsible and 150 euros for the premises where the offence occurred.

When announcing the new law in a television interview, he stated his reason as being the “public health”:

“We started on the basis of a simple observation – two figures: 60,000 deaths a year in our country linked directly to tobacco consumption and 5,000 deaths linked to passive smoking. It is an unacceptable reality in our country in terms of public health”

Public places will include stations, museums, government offices and shops, but not streets or private places such as houses or hotel rooms. He also stated that the country would pay for one-third of the costs of anti-smoking treatments:

“That would represent the first month of treatment,” he said.“There are also other solutions, for example the creation of closed, ventilated spaces, where (food and drink) service is not authorised in order to protect employees,” he added.File:Dominique villepin.jpg

A BBC survey made in France, a country notorious for its use of tobacco suggests that 70% of the people support the ban.

The European Union’s most enthusiastic smokers are found in Greece, Cyprus, and Portugal, according to findings published in May this year. When the law activates, France will join Ireland and Italy, which have passed similar measures. Italy, for example, has very strict measures, such as a minimum fine of 150 euros for smoking in public places with additional charges leveled if the offender was near a pregnant woman or a child under 13. Repeat offenders could be fined more than 275 euros, and imprisoned if they continued. In Switzerland, the canton of Ticino is the only canton in the nation to have banned smoking in restaurants. In the The Netherlands, smoking is banned in NS railway stations.

Retrieved from “https://en.wikinews.org/w/index.php?title=France_to_ban_smoking_in_public_places&oldid=1950725”
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Wikinews interviews Sue Gardner on Wikipedia blackout

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

This article mentions the Wikimedia Foundation, one of its projects, or people related to it. Wikinews is a project of the Wikimedia Foundation.

Today, the English version of Wikipedia is taking part in a 24-hour ‘blackout’ to protest two proposed U.S. anti-piracy laws, the Stop Online Piracy Act and the PROTECT IP Act. The protest mirrors similar actions from other websites including Reddit and Boing Boing. The White House stated on Saturday that they “will not support legislation that reduces freedom of expression, increases cybersecurity risk, or undermines the dynamic, innovative global internet”.

In the midst of the Wikipedia blackout, executive director of the Wikimedia Foundation Sue Gardner answered some questions posed by Wikinews’ Tom Morris about the effectiveness of, and background to, the blackout.

((Tom Morris)) Do you think the blackout is going to actually be effective?

((Sue Gardner)) Yes. In my opinion, the blackout has two main goals—to raise awareness about the dangers of SOPA and PIPA, and to encourage readers to contact their elected representatives and give their views. The first has already been accomplished: there are already more than 4,000 stories in Google News about the blackout, and it was a trending topic on Twitter almost immediately. So we know we’ve been effective in raising awareness. What remains to be seen how many people will contact their elected officials.

((TM)) What do you say to people who have decided to leave the editing community as a result of the blackout?

((Gardner)) I hope nobody stops editing Wikipedia because of the blackout. I watched the community decision-making process unfold on the English Wikipedia, and I thought it was a good one. People first started talking about SOPA more than a month ago. Jimmy started the straw poll in mid-December. Over 1,800 English Wikipedians from many different countries participated in the discussion over the last three days. As the admins who closed it noted, this is by far the largest-ever number of participants in a community discussion on English Wikipedia, and the overwhelming majority of them supported action. So I would hope that anybody who opposes the blackout would also agree that the decision-making process was a good one, and would therefore be okay to accept it, however reluctantly.

((TM)) How much technical planning went into the blackout before the community consensus was decided on Monday night?

((Gardner)) Last Thursday Geoff Brigham [Ed: Wikimedia’s legal counsel] asked engineering to do an internal assessment of the technical implementation requirements, because the community discussions at that point were suggesting there would likely be some kind of action. Engineering did an initial assessment based on e.g. the Italian blackout, implications for search engines, etc., and then a lot of work happened over the weekend. The bulk of initial development and testing happened on a sprint on Martin Luther King Day, a public holiday in the United States, and the final launch development and testing sprint happened on Tuesday.

((TM)) Does the fact that this is affecting only English Wikipedia and not the sister projects and other language projects concern the Foundation?

((Gardner)) No. My understanding is that the English Wikipedia is the only project and language-version enacting a blackout, but that several other projects and language versions are putting up supportive banners, with the Italian Wkipedians doing a clickthrough informational interstitial. The German Wikipedia decided to put up banners even before consensus was reached on the English Wikipedia, and the Arabic Wikipedia, Italian Wikipedia and Commons later made the same decision. (There may be others, that I don’t know about.) I think that’s fine: each project and each language has different circumstances that argue for different types of action, or for no action. There is no one right answer that fits everybody.

((TM)) Some have said that the lack of participation by opponents of SOPA in the commercial sector (sites of the size of Twitter, Facebook, Google etc.) is going to hamper the effectiveness of the blackout – is this a concern?

((Gardner)) No. I don’t think anybody ever expected the big commercial sites to black out: most aren’t in a position to participate in something like this even if they wanted to. For example, they might have shareholders to answer to, participation might cost them significant revenue, or it could break contractual agreements (such as a commitment to maintain a certain level of uptime, or some other service delivery). Most sites are constrained by various commercial considerations: that makes Wikipedia’s participation particularly powerful and important.

((TM)) Given both the Italian shutdown and the SOPA blackout, is the Foundation going to come up with a policy or set of conditions which limit when these kind of things happen? There are plenty in the community who support the SOPA actions but are concerned that this will set a bad precedent.

((Gardner)) Yeah, I empathize with those people and to a certain extent I share that concern. The Wikimedia movement does not have a lot of experience with advocacy, and probably mistakes will get made. At this time the Wikimedia Foundation doesn’t have any plans to develop policy governing protests or advocacy work. But, I think it probably does make sense for the Foundation to create venues for these discussions so people can share thinking and expertise. So for example, we may create a mailing list dedicated to advocacy/lobbying. And there is some good thinking starting to happen [on the project-wide protests page on Meta].

Retrieved from “https://en.wikinews.org/w/index.php?title=Wikinews_interviews_Sue_Gardner_on_Wikipedia_blackout&oldid=4567761”
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How To Better Target Your Audience Without Google Adwords

Submitted by: Steve Laba

With the proliferation of social websites also come new arenas to advertise to your potential customers. While search engines like Google, Bing and ASK are still good ways to reach your customers, social networks are offering better ways to target your customers with demographics like age, gender, location, religion and many more attributes that search engines just can’t do.

Social networks are places where hundreds of millions of people gather and spend hours a day socializing on. Because of all the time people are spending online it give’s you that much more exposure of your products and business.

I have chosen three social networks where you can place your ads in front of millions of people who fit your product’s or business’s customer profile. For example if you are selling ladies handbags you can have your ads displayed only to women so you don’t waste time trying to solicit to men.

You will now learn about three very popular social networks where you can market your products or services.

Facebook

By now just about everyone on the earth has heard of Facebook. But did you know that you can advertise on it to over 500 million people? That is quite the audience.

When you advertise on Facebook you set up a campaign and then place your ads within the campaign. The ads are text-based with the option to have an image. I would highly recommend using an image so to attract more attention. To create your ad you add the url of your website or you can send people to your fan page if you have one. The title can be up to 25 characters and your description 69 characters.

There are many ways to target your customers. Not only can you target by country, but there are dozens of other options.

You can have your ad be seen by men only, women only or both. Age is another demographic you can target by, even their birthday.

Here is a list of other ways to pick you audience: married or single, level of education, where they work, likes and dislikes and more.

Facebook offers two options for pricing. You can Pay Per Click (PPC) or use the Pay for Impressions (CPM) method. With PPC you only pay when someone clicks on your ad. For CPM you will pay a share of your budget every time your ad is shown. CPM is the best choice if you’d like to increase brand awareness by users simply seeing your ad. The cost of this is based on the competition that is also advertising on Facebook.

Currently, you can pay for ads using credit cards and co-branded debit cards (Visa or Mastercard and American Express, Discover or JCB for certain currencies) as well as PayPal.

There is no set cost that you have to start with so you can start small with about $10.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2o3Sa_UOdOM[/youtube]

Friendste

Freindster is not as well known as Facebook but it does have a respectable number of registered user’s. As of this writing they have over 100 million registered users worldwide. They are a top 20 global website, serving 16 billion pages a month. They are also top 5 in “user engagement” among global social networks.

Settings up your ads are easy. Choose between creating a text based ad or an image ad.

For a text-based ad you write a title (up to 25 characters in length including spaces) and content for the body of your ad (up to 90 characters in length including spaces). Image type ads should have your message within the image since you can t add a description.

Of course you also add your URL (website address).

Friendster has something called Flight Dates. This is simply when you would like your ad to start and finish. They also have a good number of demographics that you can target your audience: There are country, age, gender and marital status.

Here are the countries you can display your ad in.

US

Canada

Singapore

Indonesia

Malaysia

Philippines

Like Facebook they also offer two different advertising models. There is a pay for impressions (CPM) and Cost Per Click (CPC) models. For CPM a single impression is when your Ad appears on a Friendster page someone is viewing. CPM is one thousand impressions the cost of showing your ad 1,000 times. If your ad is $5 CPM and your budget is $100, your ad will appear 20,000 times over the span of your campaign. Cost Per Click (CPC) is where you pay for each click of your ad.

Plenty of Fish (POF)

Plenty Of Fish, I bet you are wondering what is this? Well for those who have never heard of POF it s a free dating site. You can sign up for free and find people like yourself by searching on a person s profile.

You set up your ads on POF basically the same way you would on FaceBook or Friendster by entering a title, description, url and image. What s nice about POF is they are more generous with the amount of characters that can be used when creating your ad. You can uses up to 32 for the title and 128 for the description. You can also include an image with your ads. The size of your ad s image dictates how much money you will have to start your campaign with. The 110×80’s sized imaged ads are available with our minimum $25 deposit, The 300×250’s, 160×600’s and 120×600’s are available with a minimum $1000 deposit. I would start with the smaller ads when first testing them out.

One of the best things about POF is the vast number of demographics you can target by. Here is a list of some.

Country

State/Province

Zip Code

Age

Gende

Education

Body Type

Ethnicity

Parental Status

Smoking Status

Drinking Status

Car Status

Religion

Income

POF only uses the Pay for Impressions (CPM) model of advertising. For CPM you will pay a share of your budget every time your ad is shown. This may seem a little scare but you pay a small amount like $.10 for every 1,000 times your ad is displayed.

Well there you have it. I hope this article has helped make you aware of other platforms for PPC type advertising.

About the Author: Steve Laba is an internet marketer and eBay PowerSeller with over 10 year of experience making money online. If you would like to learn more about Adwords and many other internet marketing ideas please go to

myfirstmoneymakingwebsite.com

There is also a FREE $100 gift waiting for you.

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isnare.com

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Wikinews interviews Frank Moore, independent candidate for US President

Saturday, March 1, 2008

While nearly all coverage of the 2008 Presidential election has focused on the Democratic and Republican candidates, the race for the White House also includes independents and third party candidates. These parties represent a variety of views that may not be acknowledged by the major party platforms.

Wikinews has impartially reached out to these candidates, throughout the campaign. We now interview independent Presidential candidate Frank Moore, a performance artist.

Retrieved from “https://en.wikinews.org/w/index.php?title=Wikinews_interviews_Frank_Moore,_independent_candidate_for_US_President&oldid=2185149”
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Illinois high schools now required to buy insurance for athletes

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

This past Sunday, Illinois Governor Pat Quinn signed into law a bill known as “Rocky’s Law” that requires Illinois high schools, through the local school district, to buy catastrophic injury insurance up to US$3 million or medical costs for up to five years, whichever one comes first, that covers student athletes. The insurance must cover student athletes while they are competing.

The legislation was named after Rasul “Rocky” Clark. In 2000, the Eisenhower High School football player became paralyzed from the waist down as a result of a tackle during a game. His school based health insurance covered the costs of his medical treatment. A legislator sponsoring the bill noted that the need for this type of insurance is rare. Clark’s mother attended the legislation signing. Her son died last year.

Before parents can claim money from school insurance, they first must pay out US$50,000. Schools have until January 1, 2014 to comply with the law. Schools cannot charge students more than US$5 to defray the cost of insurance. If a school district already requires student to be covered through private health insurance, they are exempted from this law.

Retrieved from “https://en.wikinews.org/w/index.php?title=Illinois_high_schools_now_required_to_buy_insurance_for_athletes&oldid=1970513”
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Hunter says he caught ‘Bigfoot’ on camera

Monday, October 29, 2007

A hunter from Pennsylvania says that he managed to snap photographs supposedly of the legendary Bigfoot, but this one is said to be a juvenile.

Rick Jacobs says that he snapped the pictures in September of 2007 when he set up an automatic camera in a tree in the Allegheny National Forest in northwest Pennsylvania for hunting deer. Bait was used to attract animals which consisted of a “aromatic deer attractant” and various mineral in the form of a block that the deer would lick. Jacobs says that he will not reveal the exact location of where the image was taken because he believes hunters and tourists will flood the area in an attempt to get a glimpse of it.

The Bigfoot Field Research Organization says that the photo is of a Bigfoot, but they state that this one appears to be very young. On their website they list the discovery as an “Unclassified primate?”

In all, three images were captured. The first image is of bear cubs, and in the second and third images are what appears to be a “juvenile sasquatch.” Some say that it is likely a bear. There are several minutes, at least 30-35, from the time the bears left to when the unidentified animal arrived. The animal appears to have two arms and two legs, but appears to walk hunched over, with its knuckles dragging on the ground.

“We are seeking comparative images of a skinny, mangy bear, bent over and smelling the ground, as you see in this image. The people we have spoken with so far who have spent a great deal of time with both primates and bears (mainly zoologists) say this figure looks much more like a primate smelling the ground than like a skinny bear smelling the ground,” said a statement posted on the organization’s website.

The organization states that the images are being examined by experts in Canada and the United States and that more information will be available in a few days.

Despite the organization’s claim, the Pennsylvania Game Commission says that they have seen this before and it appears to be a bear with a possible skin disease.

Retrieved from “https://en.wikinews.org/w/index.php?title=Hunter_says_he_caught_%27Bigfoot%27_on_camera&oldid=4520051”
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British government considering new nuclear power stations

April 24, 2005

Advisers to British Prime Minister Tony Blair are suggesting that constructing new nuclear power stations would be the best way to meet the country’s targets on reducing emissions of gases responsible for global warming.

The government has a near-term target of cutting emissions below 1997 levels by 20%, and a more ambitious target of a 60% cut by 2050.Critics of nuclear power say that it will not be able to help meet the 2010 target due to the length of time needed to plan, construct and commission such power plants. However backers say nuclear power will help meet the 60% cut by 2050 target.

Sir David King, Chief Scientific Advisor to the government, is a supporter of nuclear power believing that it is the best way to tackle global warming.

The chairman of British Nuclear Fuels, a company that operates several British nuclear reactors, said that he expects Tony Blair to make an announcement of new power stations within weeks of the May 5 general election if he is re-elected.

Another primary supporter of nuclear power is the ex-BBC Director General Lord Birt, who has been advising 10 Downing Street on various issues by providing ‘blue-sky’ thinking without payment, as part of the Strategy Unit. He is said to be preparing a report that will say nuclear energy provides an opportunity to reduce dependence on Middle Eastern oil supplies (although very little oil is burnt for electricity production in the UK).

While it is believed that senior Cabinet members would not oppose a plan for new nuclear power stations if Tony Blair proposed it, the Environment Secretary Margaret Beckett and Trade and Industry Secretary Patricia Hewitt both oppose nuclear power.

New reactors would probably be sited next to existing reactors to limit public opposition.

Nuclear power currently provides 22% of the UK’s electricity needs. The UK has 31 operating reactors at 14 power plants, but by 2015 all but three stations will have been shut down. The last nuclear reactor to open was Sizewell B on the North Sea coast in 1995. The 1,188MW station was a large reason why the UK met its carbon dioxide emissions reduction target in the 1990s. British nuclear power stations have created 2,000 cubic metres of nuclear waste. There are currently no plans for the long-term storage of the waste.

By comparison, just over 3% of Britain’s electricity comes from renewable energy. France met 78% of its electricity needs in 2002 using nuclear power.

Retrieved from “https://en.wikinews.org/w/index.php?title=British_government_considering_new_nuclear_power_stations&oldid=1977238”
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Football: Arsenal signs Aubameyang from Dortmund

Friday, February 2, 2018

On Wednesday, English football club Arsenal FC announced signing Gabonese striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang from German club Borussia Dortmund (BVB) on “a long-term contract” which runs until 2021. The deal is worth about £56 million, making Aubameyang the costliest player in the history of the club.

The 28-year-old striker joined Borussia in 2013 from French club Saint-Etienne, and since then, scored 141 goals in 213 matches for BVB. In German Bundesliga, he scored 98 goals, scoring one goal in 116 minutes on average. During his tenure at the Signal Iduna Park, the Gabonese captain won the 2017 DFB-Pokal (German Cup).

Aubameyang scored 31 goals in Bundesliga last season. Aubameyang was named 2016 Bundesliga player of the year. A year earlier, in 2015, he won African Footballer of the Year award. He has 56 international caps with Gabon and has netted 23 goals.

Via their official website, Arsenal announced Aubameyang is to wear jersey number 14, previously worn by Theo Walcott until last month when he moved to Everton FC. The Gabonese, who has already scored 21 goals in 24 games this season, reunites with Armenian midfielder Henrick Mkhitaryan. They were teammates at Dortmund until 2016, when Mkhitaryan moved to Manchester United. Mkhitaryan’s transfer to the London club came in exchange of Chilean forward Alexis Sanchez moving from Arsenal to their rivals Manchester in a swap deal.

Dortmund had signed Belgian footballer Michy Batshuayi from Chelsea on loan before Aubameyang’s deal was agreed upon. With Aubameyang’s arrival, French forward Olivier Giroud moved to Arsenal’s cross-town rivals Chelsea. In summer, Arsenal had signed Alexandre Lacazette for a then-club record fee of around £46.5 million.

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